Emmanuela Orsini

Research Expert at COSIC, KU Leuven

Emmanuela obtained her Ph.D. degree from the Department of Mathematics of University of Milano. In 2012 she moved to the Department of Computer Science of Bristol where she was a senior research associate. In 2018 she moved to Belgium as Research Expert at COSIC, KU Leuven. Currently, Emmanuela Orsini ’s research is mainly focused on theoretical and practical aspects of secure computation and its fundamental building blocks such as oblivious transfer, secret sharing schemes and zero-knowledge protocols.

Jordi Baylina

Founder & Technical Lead at Hermez Network

Jordi Baylina is a telecommunications engineer, blockchain developer and co-founder of the White Hat Group. Jordi is the founder of Giveth, DAppNode and founder and Technical Lead of iden3 and Hermez Network.

Peter Scholl

Assistant Professor, Aarhus University

Peter Scholl is a tenure-track assistant professor in the Cryptography & Security group at Aarhus University. He has worked extensively on bringing the theory of secure multi-party computation into practice with more efficient protocols and implementations, and is also interested in related, core primitives such as oblivious transfer, homomorphic encryption and zero-knowledge proofs.

Nick Spooner

Boston University

Nick Spooner is a postdoctoral researcher at Boston University, and will join the University of Warwick as an assistant professor next spring. He received his PhD from UC Berkeley, where he was advised by Alessandro Chiesa. His work focuses on post-quantum cryptographic proof systems, recursive proof composition, and zero knowledge.

Elette Boyle

Director and Associate Professor at FACT, IDC

Elette Boyle is an Associate Professor, and Director of the FACT (Foundations & Applications of Cryptographic Theory) Research Center, at IDC Herzliya, Israel. She received her PhD from MIT, and served as a postdoctoral researcher at Cornell University and at the Technion. Elette’s research focuses in secure multi-party computation, oblivious data structures, and distributed algorithm design.

Srinath Setty

Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research


Srinath Setty is a Principal Researcher at Microsoft Research in Redmond, which he joined in the winter of 2014. His research interests are in security, privacy, and cryptography. He has worked on verifiability for stateful computation, zero-knowledge SNARKs, Byzantine consensus without Byzantine oligarchy, formal verification of distributed systems and cryptographic implementations, metadata-private communication, fault-tolerance in cloud services, and decentralized identity. His honors include award papers at OSDI (2020) and USENIX Security (2017), Best Dissertation Award from the UT Department of Computer Science (2014), and several individual performance awards at Microsoft Research. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from UT Austin.

Mary Maller

Cryptography Researcher, Ethereum Foundation

Mary Maller is a cryptography researcher at the Ethereum Foundation. She is generally interested in public key cryptography, with a focus on the design of trusted setup ceremonies. Much of her research has looked into the design of ceremonies for zero-knowledge proofs. More recently she has been looking into distributed key generation. Her PhD was obtained while studying at University College London and was on practical zero-knowledge arguments from structured reference strings.

Justin Thaler

Assistant Professor, Georgetown University


Justin Thaler has been an Assistant Professor at Georgetown University since 2016. Prior to joining Georgetown, he spent two years as a Research Scientist at Yahoo Labs in New York, and before that he was a Research Fellow at the Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing at UC Berkeley. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 2013. His research interests include algorithms for massive data sets, quantum computing, cryptography, and complexity theory. His work has been recognized with a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Joshua Baron

Program Manager, Information Innovation Office, DARPA

Dr. Joshua Baron joined DARPA’s Information Innovation Office (I2O) as a program manager in August 2017. His research interests include cryptography, privacy, and anonymity. Baron runs the SIEVE, RACE and Brandeis programs as well as the Cooperative Secure Learning (CSL) AI Exploration (AIE) program. He also ran a DARPA workshop entitled Applications and Barriers to Consensus protocols (ABC) that examined permissionless distributed consensus protocols.

Prior to his position at DARPA, Baron was at RAND Corporation, where he conducted policy analysis for the Department of Defense, mostly the U.S. Air Force and Joint Staff. Baron’s research investigated methods and tools to enable the development of enhanced decision-making capabilities for cyberspace operations. He also examined policy implications of virtual currencies as well as various cryptographic technologies. Before joining RAND, Baron worked for HRL Laboratories, conducting research on secure multiparty computation.

Baron holds Doctorate of Philosophy and Master of Arts degrees in mathematics from the University of California, Los Angeles and a Bachelor of Arts in mathematics from the University of California, Berkeley. Baron’s doctoral work focused on secure multiparty computation.

Shafi Goldwasser

Shafi Goldwasser is the Director of the Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing, and the C. Lester Hogan Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at UC Berkeley. She is also the RSA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, and a professor of computer science and applied mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel. Goldwasser received a BS in applied mathematics from Carnegie Mellon University in 1979, and MS and PhD in computer science from UC Berkeley in 1984.

Goldwasser was the recipient of ACM Turing Award for 2012. She was also the recipient of the Gödel Prize in 1993 and another in 2001 for her work on interactive proofs and connections to approximation, and was awarded the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award (1996), the RSA award in mathematics (1998), the ACM Athena award for women in computer science (2008), the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science (2010), the IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award (2011), the Barnard College Medal of Distinction (2016), and the Suffrage Science Award (2016). She is a member of the AAAS, ACM, NAE, NAS, Israeli Academy of Science, London Mathematical Society, and Russian Academy of Science.